Question about ratio/uploading/seeding

Reply to topic

andysbassline ®

Longevity: 3 years 6 months

Post 28-Jan-2014 03:41

[Quote]

Hi,
I am relatively new to torrenting, but got my feet wet on a couple other sites not related to The Smiths. So, I know the basics about seeding and improving one's ratio. However, on those sites I am not having a problem getting my ratio up as there seems to be plenty of seeders and new torrents to get on. I don't know how many members are on this site, or how often new torrents go up. I have almost all the shows, but only in mp3 format, so there really isn't much of anything I could put up as my own torrent. I will gladly seed anything I download, and keep my client up basically all day until I go to bed.
So, my question is will I be able to get an adequate ratio by only seeding what I download? Is there enough traffic to do that? I would like to replace all my mp3 shows with lossless ones, but I'm guessing it's gonna take a long time. I have plenty of other artists that I could upload, but this is a Smiths site, so....
Thanks in advance for an help.
Mike
[Profile] [PM]

the Flea

Longevity: 11 years

Post 28-Jan-2014 05:17 (after 1 hour 35 minutes)

[Quote]

I would think it almost impossible to maintain a ratio of 1-1 or anything close to that at this point in time. Almost everybody on this site has almost everything on this site so they won't be wanting what you seed. Only the newbies like yourself want whats on offer and they are relatively few these days.
However they (newbies) do keep coming so we do request that you keep seeding as long as you can and also help out on requests.
[Profile] [PM]

DavidA

Post 28-Jan-2014 12:18 (after 7 hours)

[Quote]

I'm not too worried about people maintaining ratios these days as bandwidth is getting better. The software that this site runs on has a built in ratio system but I don't think it's really given anyone any trouble. I've never looked into disabling it.